Image

 

I admit, I am someone who usually dabbles on nostalgia. And I do that a lot with photographs that I’ve taken. I don’t know if that is really a good thing to improve my craft but it’s me I guess…the nostalgia thing. I even try to remember the weather, the conditions and how I was feeling and how I felt after a certain photograph was taken. One of those moments was when I took this. We had a bit of a storm the day before and the some of the clouds stayed. The air felt so clean and even on an October weekday afternoon, the beach was unusually crowded.

 I can clearly remember the sudden burst of joy right after I exhaled after pushing the shutter button on my Lubitel 2. It might sound a bit arrogant but I knew I nailed the shot. When it comes to slide film to be cross processed, I am never really sure all the time about the outcome. The exposure becomes tricky at times and it depends a lot too on the film to be crossed processed. But on this certain shot, I knew in my heart I got it. And I did. 

I look back to the day I took this shot and how I felt during and after. Lately I feel a bit of a rut when it comes to shooting. I think I am rushing it a lot and taking just too many photographs without giving myself the chance to breath. Inhale. Exhale. Enjoy.

I wish for another moment as this. 

 

2 thoughts on “Fuji Astia, Cross Processing and the California Sunset….

  1. These colors are fantastic! I have a little stock of Astia in my freezer, but I have not crossed it yet. Perhaps it’s time to try that.
    Thanks for great inspiration! :-)

Leave a Reply

